Race Results

Sunday 26 May 2019 Fleet Race Opti
Class OPT
Notes SH

  • OOD: Nadine de Rosayro

    Sunday 26th May 2019 - Euro Regatta

    We sailed the Euro Regatta. The sun was shining and 26 boats took to the water to sail for the trophy and prizes. The 10 Optimists went off first, sailing a similar but slightly shorter cause than the Lasers and GPs. OOD Ernst set a demanding course for both fleets. The shifty Bolgoda winds were, as usual, very erratic. Clouds threatened rain through out the day but they stayed away until the prize giving. As the prize giving was about to start a huge storm ripped across the lake so uncharacteristically lunch was served before the prize giving. A fine selection of curries and freshly cooked hoppers were served, organised by the Commodore’s wife Michelle. After the lunch OOD Ernst called upon the Chief Guest Mr. Thorsten Bargrfede, the Deputy Head of the European Union, here in Sri Lanka, to award the many prizes donated by their organisation.

    In the Optimist class Shashenka took third place, Tharen took second place and Dhanika took first place. In the Laser class Mathisha took third place, Jehan took second and Zai took first place. In the main trophy race, the Euro Regatta, Rehan took third place, Zai took second place and Roshanara and Joe sailed exceptionally well to take first place.

    A lot of fun was had by all and it was great to see the enthusiasm for the club from so many members who supported the event. At my last count we were over 50 signed up for the Hopper lunch.

    Thanks again for everyone’s support.

    And I hope to see you on the water soon.

    Rob Moore

    CMYC Sailing Convenor


    1Dhanika Nanayakkara
    2Tharen Nanayakkara
    3Shashenka Fernando




    Previous Winners

    26 May 2019Dhanika Nanayakkara
    19 May 2019Tharen Nanayakkara
    28 April 2019Dhanika Nanayakkara
    14 October 2018Jehan De Silva
    30 September 2018Dhanika Nanayakkara
    16 September 2018Mathisha Karunaratne
    17 June 2018Jehan De Silva
    28 January 2018Jehan De Silva
    14 January 2018
    20 September 2015Kethaka Weerasuriya