Race Results

Sunday 9 August 2020 Jeremy Bolling Shackle Optimist Trophy Jeremy Bolling Shackle Optimist 8-9th August
Class OPT

  • OOD: Anil Gunawardana

    Inaugural Jeremy Bolling Shackle Club Championship - OOD Anil

    On the weekend of the 8th and 9th of August 2020 the inaugural Jeremy Bolling Shackle Club Championships were sailed in the Optimist, Laser and GP14 classes. The Shackle has been sailed for for many years but this year the Trophy has been renamed to honour Jeremy Bolling and theTrophy and the Winner’s boards have been renamed as such and with a new race format of 7 races with 2 discards. The races being approx 40 mins each. A full weekend’s sailing to say the least.

    On Saturday racing got underway at about 12.30 PM with 8-10 knts of breeze coming from the SW and with Anil Gunewardana as The Chief Race Officer setting a trapezoid course with an interesting M Shape on the first reach leg. The racing across the GP fleet was tight with many position changes throughout the afternoon. 4 races were sailed back to back with the highlight of the GP fleet being a race win for Millie 8yrs old and her dad Rob. Millie aptly dressed in pink. Throughout the afternoon there was a huge battle going on for the podium places with the new team of Mini and Michelle, Asita and Chandima, Tharuni and Janaka, swapping places in each race. The Optimist fleet was also very competitive with 6 boats and it was great to see a large contingent of young girls fighting it out with the more experienced boys. Tharen Nanayakkara controlled the afternoon but a mention must be made of Tharini De Silva who got a couple of great results.

    In the Laser competition the battle was fierce for the top spot with Jehan and Zai fighting it out over the four races with each taking race wins.

    We were off the water at 4.15 pm straight in to a great BBQ and lots of refreshments and much dissection of the day’s events.

    Sunday came with a breeze of 12- 15 Knots from the NW and The RO had his work cut out to re-orientate his course from Saturday. It also meant that the 2nd leg of the M became very tight and the middle of the M was named Capsize Corner in our boat.

    Three races to see out the series and the stiffer breeze took its toll on some boats with minor repairs having to be attended to between races and a couple of boats having to check the condition of their Centre Board Slot Gaskets mid race.

    In the GP Class only 5 boats finished the last race as the vicious gusts and swing in direction kept boats ashore. Duncan and Gail took 1st overall with 2nd place to Tharuni and Janaka and 3rd place to Asita and Chandi

    Special mention must be made of Jordan and Akiel who not having sailed in a GP together and Jordan stepping out of his Laser made massive progress through the fleet over the weekend. Another mention must go to Asita and Chandi for a great display of experienced no nonsense sailing in some tough conditions. Jehan managed to hold off Zai in the Laser class with Niveyn taking the last podium.

    In the Optimists the podium was filled by the Nanayakkara family with Tharen taking 1st and Dhanika 2nd after a count back between him and Nikhil. Both ended up with 11points but Dhanika won the last race.

    We were all off the water by 3pm due to the meticulous timing and discipline of the RO. A large crowd of over 100 had gathered for a spectacular hopper lunch and we were fortunate and blessed to have Nicola, Julian, Jordan and Jade Bolling as Guests of Honour and many well wishers with us to celebrate and remember Jeremy who would have been proud of the diversity of sailors and the quality at this event.

    Many thanks go to Anil and his team of helpers our Sailing Convenor PJ and Mini, Sarah, Pranitha for the excellent organisation and not to forget all club staff.

    The proceedings finished with ……… wait for it …….. One BIG ROUND of applause!!!!!!!

    Cheers to all



    1Tharen Nanayakkara
    2Dhanika Nanayakkara
    3Nikhil Nanayakkara




    Previous Winners

    9 August 2020Tharen Nanayakkara
    27 May 2018Jehan De Silva
    17 June 2017Zai Pestonjee
    26 November 2016Sehan De Silva
    30 May 2015
    31 May 2014Akiel Jayawardene
    30 June 2013Amila Sampath
    30 June 2013Tilak Conrad
    30 June 2013Amila Sampath
    29 June 2013Hashan Menuka
    29 June 2013Amila Sampath
    31 May 2009Dimitri Goonewardena
    25 May 2008Dimitri Goonewardena